Guevara takes his first Grand Prix pole

The Spaniard left him late to overthrow Sasaki in Q2 at the Lusail International Circuit

For the first time in his world championship career, Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) will start from pole position after leaving it late to set a session of over 2:04.811. Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) cruised through Q1 to win a fantastic P2, with Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) occupying the outside of the front row in P3 at the Qatar Grand Prix.

Leave late to snatch the pole

After finishing fastest in Q1, Sasaki was the early leader in Q2 and his initial advantage was 0.5 seconds – the fastest lap of the weekend at this stage. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) closed the gap to 0.2 seconds on his second flying lap as many riders piled into the pit lane, with just four riders less than a second behind Sasaki before the last five minutes.

Sasaki was towing his team mate John McPhee and the British rider moved up to P5, with Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets – MSI) in P4. A freight train of frantic Moto3™ riders formed behind Foggia, typical light qualifying shenanigans were in play, a vital wake for a good time in Qatar.

A group of runners crossed the finish line a few tenths apart, as Guevara grabbed P1 from Sasaki. Masia won P3 with Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) ahead of Foggia, who slipped to P5. Yamanaka and McPhee’s strategy to come out ahead of the big group worked well as they line up P6 and P7 for the opening race of the season, Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) set his best time on the final lap but only passed P8 . Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) and fastest rookie Ivan Ortola (Angeluss MTA Team) complete the top 10.

Don’t miss the first race of the season!

The season-opening Moto3™ race promises to be more thrilling at the Lusail International Circuit. Tune in at 3:00 p.m. local time (GMT+3) to see who will claim the first victory of the season.

Top 10:
1. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar team) 2:04.811
2. Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) +0.085
3. Jaume Masia (KTM Ajo red bull) +0.212
4. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Sniper Team) +0.363
5. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) +0.378
6. Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets – MSI) +0.725
7. John McPhee (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) +0.738
8. Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Asar team) +0.847
9. Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) +0.872
10. Ivan Ortola (Angeluss MTA Team) +0.952

VideoPass lets you watch every second of every sector live and on demand. VideoPass gives you unparalleled access to interviews and features as well as every competition round at every Grand Prix. VideoPass is also available on the MotoGP™ app for iOS and Android, while you can also watch LIVE or on-demand content with Roku TV, Apple TV, Android TV or Amazon Fire TV.
Over 45,000 videos dating back to 1992, with a full catalog of MotoGP™ coverage including full races, interviews, highlights, reports and documentaries, are available to you – whenever, wherever.
Different camera feeds and OnBoards allow you to choose your preferred viewing experience and enjoy the race from many angles. REGISTER NOW!

Comments are closed.