Hamilton wins Hawthorn Trophy for 11th time in 15 years

The prestigious prize is awarded annually to the most successful Commonwealth driver in the F1 World Championship.

It is named after Britain’s first world champion, Mike Hawthorn, who died in a road accident three months after winning the title.

It is the eighth year in a row that Hamilton has won the trophy, despite missing out on a record eighth world title against Red Bull’s Max Verstappen.

Hamilton took a total of eight wins throughout 2021 but lost the championship in hugely controversial circumstances at the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix after FIA race director Michael Masi failed to correctly apply the rules during a late safety car period.

Hamilton was announced the winner at Motorsport Uk’s ‘Night of Champions’ at the Royal Automobile Club in London, adding to his previous wins in 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2012, 2008 and 2007.

The only times Hamilton missed out on the award were in 2009 and 2011 when former McLaren team-mate Jenson Button won, and in 2010 and 2013 when Mark Webber came first.

Hamilton is four wins ahead of Nigel Mansell on the all-time winners list.

Other Commonwealth drivers on the 2021 F1 grid were fellow Britons Lando Norris and George Russell, Australian Daniel Ricciardo and Canadian duo Lance Stroll and Nicholas Latifi.

Comments are closed.