Indianapolis GMR Grand Prix – facts, schedule, entry list

Event date: From Friday 13 May to Saturday 14 May

Track: 2,439 mile road course with 14 turns in Indianapolis, IN.

Race distance: 85 laps (207.315 miles)

Firestone Tire Allocation: Six sets of primary tires (with an additional set available to rookies for early testing), four sets of alternate tires and five sets of rain tires.

Push-to-pass parameters: 200 seconds of total time with a maximum single duration of 20 seconds.

IndyCar Schedule (Local Time/Eastern Time) and Broadcast Details

friday april 29

9:30-10:30 p.m. – First workout – Peacock bounty
12:45-1:45 p.m.
– Second practice – Peacock bounty
4:00 p.m. – Qualifications – Peacock bounty

Saturday April 30

10h30-11h00 – Warm up – Peacock bounty
3:00 p.m. – Preparation before the race – NBC
3:39 p.m. –
“Drivers, start your engines”
3:45 p.m. – Green flag: Grand Prix GMR – BNC

Leigh Diffey is the announcer alongside analysts Townsend Bell and James Hinchcliffe. All NTT IndyCar Series practices and qualifying are broadcast live on Peacock Premium, NBC’s direct-to-consumer live-streaming product, while Peacock Premium’s exclusive post-race show will air after the race.

IndyCar Radio Network broadcasts: Mark Jaynes is the lead announcer alongside analyst Davey Hamilton. Nick Yeoman, Jake Query and Michael Young are the turn announcers, while Ryan Myrehn and Rob Blackman are the pit reporters. All IndyCar races, practices and qualifying sessions are broadcast live on network affiliates, SiriusXM 160, and the IndyCar app powered by NTT DATA.

Race notes

Winner of the 2021 race: Rinus VeeKay (Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet).

2021 pole winner: Romain Grosjean (Dale Coyne Racing-Honda), 69.4396sec, 126.447mph.

Qualifying lap record: Will Power (Team Penske-Chevrolet) 67.7044sec, 129.687mph, 2017 during Q3.

It will be the 12and IndyCar racing held on the IMS road circuit, including all Indy Grands Prix, the 2020 Harvest GP double-header and the 2021 Gallagher Grand Prix). Will Power has won five times at this course, Simon Pagenaud three times while Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden and Rinus VeeKay have each won once.

In qualifying, Power took five poles, while Pato O’Ward, Grosjean, VeeKay, Felix Rosenqvist, Pagenaud and Sebastian Saavedra each had one.

In terms of teams, Penske has won eight of 11 races on the IMS road course, while the other three have been won by Chip Ganassi Racing, Ed Carpenter Racing and, in the inaugural 2014 event, what was then known as Schmidt Peterson Motorsports but is now Arrow McLaren SP.

Josef Newgarden could land the $1 million PeopleReady Force For Good Challenge prize by winning on Saturday, as it would complete his winning streak on an oval, a street course and a road course in the same season. The PeopleReady award would grant him a $500,000 bonus and a $500,000 matching donation to his chosen charities, namely Wags and Walk Nashville and SeriousFun Children’s Network.

Five of the six rookies – Tatiana Calderon, Devlin DeFrancesco, Callum Ilott, Kyle Kirkwood and David Malukas – will all make their first IndyCar starts at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The sixth rookie, Christian Lundgaard of Rahal Letterman Lanigan-Honda, will make his second start, as it was the location of his IndyCar debut last August, when he qualified fourth.

2022 Indianapolis GMR Grand Prix entry list

No. Driver Hometown car name team engine
2 Joseph Newgarden Nashville, TN The PPG Penske Team Team Penske-Chevrolet
3 Scott McLaughlin Christchurch, New Zealand Snap-on Team Penske Team Penske-Chevrolet
4 Dalton Kellet Stouffville, Canada K-Line / AJ Foyt Racing AJ Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
5 Pato O’Ward Monterrey, Mexico Arrow McLaren SP Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
06 Helio Castroneves Sao Paulo, Brazil AutoNation / SiriusXM Meyer Shank Racing-Honda
6 Juan Pablo Montoya Bogotá – Colombia Arrow McLaren SP Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
7 Felix Rosenqvist Varnamo, Sweden Vuse Arrow McLaren SP Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
8 Marcus Ericsson Kumla, Sweden Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
9 Scott Dixon Auckland, New Zealand PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
ten Alex Palou Barcelona, ​​Spain NTT Ganassi Racing data chip Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
11 Tatiana Calderon (D) Bogotá – Colombia ROKiT / AJ Foyt Racing AJ Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
12 Will Toowoomba, Australia The Verizon Penske Team Team Penske-Chevrolet
14 Kyle Kirkwood (R) Jupiter, Florida ROKiT / AJ Foyt Racing AJ Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
15 Graham Rahal New Albany, Ohio Fifth Third Bank Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
18 David Malukas (R) Chicago, Ill. HMD Dale Coyne Racing with HMD Motorsports-Honda
20 Conor Daly Noblesville, Indiana BitNile Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
21 Rinus VeeKay Hoofddorp, Netherlands build tomorrow Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
26 Colton Herta Valencia, California gainbridge Andretti Autosport with Agajanian-Honda curb
27 Alexandre Rossi City of Nevada, California NAPA Auto Parts / AutoNation Andretti Autosport-Honda
28 Romain Grosjean Geneva, Switzerland Indiana Gleaners Food Bank / DHL Andretti Autosport-Honda
29 Devlin DeFrancesco (D) Toronto, Canada PowerTap Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport-Honda
30 Christian Lundgaard (R) Hedensted, Denmark Shield Cleansers Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
45 Jack Harvey Bassingham, United Kingdom Hy Vee Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
48 jimmy johnson El Cajon, California Carvana Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
51 Takuma Sato Tokyo, Japan ODT Nurtec Dale Coyne Racing with RWR-Honda
60 Simon Pagenaud Montmorillon, France AutoNation / SiriusXM Meyer Shank Racing-Honda
77 Callum Ilott (R) Cambridge, United Kingdom Juncos Hollinger Racing Juncos Hollinger Racing-Chevrolet

Comments are closed.