Indianapolis Motor Speedway

The Indy 500 handbag reaches new heights

Winner Ericsson receives biggest payout in Indy 500 history

The Indianapolis 500 purse record was shattered after a 106th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, with race winner Marcus Ericsson taking home $3.1 million out of a total purse of $16,000,200.

This is the biggest purse ever in the more than century-long history of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing”. The Chip Ganassi Racing Driver’s Prize is also the biggest ever payout for the world’s biggest one-day sporting event.

Before 2022, the biggest Indy 500 purse was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500. The average driver payout this year was $485,000.

See: 2022 Indy 500 Box Score w/ Purse

“The Indianapolis 500 is the greatest race in the world, and these drivers are putting everything on the line for a chance to drink the winner’s milk and embrace the famous Yard of Bricks,” said Roger Penske. “This year’s record purse reflects their tireless pursuit of history and the world-class talent they display at every turn.”

This marks another milestone this May as Indianapolis Motor Speedway opened its doors to racing fans without restrictions for the first time in three years. More than 325,000 racing fans attended Sunday’s race, making it the world’s busiest one-day sporting event since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Runner-up Pato O’Ward of Arrow McLaren SP took home $1 million, marking the biggest takeaway for the runner-up in nearly a decade.

Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson won Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year for his historic and electrifying performance during the month of May for Chip Ganassi Racing. Johnson earned a $50,000 bonus for being named Rookie of the Year, adding to a total takeout prize of $207,900.

The Indianapolis 500 scholarship includes the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and NTT INDYCAR SERIES awards, as well as other designated and special awards. The scholarships are awarded annually at the Victory Celebration, held this year at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis on Monday evening.

The next NTT INDYCAR SERIES race is the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear on Sunday, June 5 at Belle Isle Park Raceway in Detroit. The race will be broadcast live on USA Network and the INDYCAR radio network beginning at 3 p.m. ET.

Comments are closed.