Motor racing-Formula 1 statistics for the British Grand Prix


(Reuters) – Statistics for Sunday’s British Grand Prix at Silverstone, 10th round of the Formula 1 World Championship:

Lap distance: 5,891 km. Total distance: 306.198 km (52 ​​laps)

Pole GP of Great Britain 2020: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain) Mercedes One minute 24.303 seconds

2020 winner: Hamilton.

Race lap record: Max Verstappen (Netherlands) 1: 27.097 (Red Bull, 2020)

Start time: 1400GMT (1500 local)


Sunday’s race will be the 72nd British Grand Prix.

Hamilton is aiming for a record-breaking eighth British victory. He has also been on pole seven times at Silverstone.

Mercedes has won seven of the last eight British Grands Prix.

Every winner started from fourth place or higher since 2000.

Four current drivers have won the British Grand Prix at Silverstone: Hamilton (2008, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020), Sebastian Vettel (2009, 2018), Fernando Alonso (2006, 2011) and Kimi Raikkonen (2007).

Verstappen won the 70th anniversary race last year, the first time Silverstone has hosted two races in a single season.

The British Grand Prix, along with Italy, is one of two ubiquitous races on the calendar since 1950. This year’s race will be the 55th British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Ferrari has won the British GP 17 times.


Hamilton has a record 98 career wins, including 77 with Mercedes, out of 275 starts. He has reached the podium 171 times.

Verstappen has won five races so far in 2021, compared to three for Hamilton and one for Mexican Sergio Perez of Red Bull.

Mercedes have now competed in five races without a win for the first time since 2013, before the start of the current era of the turbo hybrid V6 that they have dominated.

Ferrari has won 238 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Mercedes 118, Williams 114 and Red Bull 70. Former champions McLaren and Williams haven’t won since 2012.


Hamilton has a career record of 100 poles and has won pole 59 times.

Mercedes competed in five races without pole position. Verstappen was on pole the last two races in Austria and also in France, while Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc was fastest in qualifying in Azerbaijan and Monaco.


Verstappen is 32 points ahead of Hamilton. Red Bull is ahead of Mercedes by 44 points.


McLaren’s Lando Norris has finished eight times in the top five in nine races. The Briton also finished his last 13 races in points, the longest race of all on the grid.


Verstappen won three consecutive races for the first time in his F1 career.

The 23-year-old Dutchman is the youngest driver to reach 50 podiums. His two victories in Austria made him the first F1 driver to win two championship races at the same location in the same year.

Red Bull’s engine supplier Honda is enjoying its longest winning streak since 1988, when Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna won the first 11 races of the season for McLaren.

(Report by Alan Baldwin, edited by Christian Radnedge)

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.