New Zealand wins the Trofeo Juan Sebastian de Elcano in Cadiz during the Eve of Spain Sailing Grand Prix • Live Sail Die


Less than 24 hours before the start of the Spanish Sailing Grand Prix, the New Zealand SailGP team received the Juan Sebastian De Elcano Trofeo after a thrilling race in the Bay of Cadiz.

The race, held on the eve of SpainSGP to commemorate the 500th anniversary of the first circumnavigation of the Earth in 1522, was held with the participation of three of our eight national teams – the event hosts Spain, as well as the States -Unis and Kiwis.

The Kiwis, whose only victory in the SailGP race this season came when skipper Pete Burling was not driving their F50, completed the six-stage race in 12:51, with the United States crossing the finish line 57 seconds later.

The Spaniards unfortunately failed to take advantage of their home water advantage, finishing 26 seconds behind as Jordi Xammar steered their boat for the first time under Phil Robertson’s watch from shore.

The trophy awarded to the New Zealand winners is named after Juan Sebastián de Elcano, who took command of the circumnavigation expedition after the death of Ferdinand Magellan, the previously Portuguese-born explorer in charge, in 1521.

Elcano safely returned one of the two remaining expedition ships to Spain to complete the circumnavigation, arriving in Seville, Andalusia, in September 1522. Elcano’s ship’s name, the Victoria, survives on behalf of Spain SailGP’s F50 team, also called Victoria. .

New Zealand Trofeo champions Juan Sebastian De Elcano, along with Spain and the United States, will return to Cadiz on Saturday when the Spanish Sailing Grand Prix kicks off. The race starts at 4:30 p.m. CEST with full live coverage on and on SailGP social media. How to view the details HERE

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.