Othello derby draws crowds: More drivers, more fans in the stands for the demolition races


Smoke and dust have subsided since the Othello Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) Othello demolition derby on Wednesday evening at the Adams County Fairgrounds.

Kameron Dockins closed the evening by winning the final event of the evening, the Othello Demolition Derby, taking home the prize of $ 2,000. Second place winner Chris Eckelbarger received $ 1,000, third place Travis Jaeger received $ 500 and a “mad dog” prize of $ 500 awarded to Devin Bouee.

Adam Robertson helped organize and coordinate the demo event this month and said things went pretty well, after missing a chance to compete last year due to COVID-19.

“There were a lot more people than we thought, but everyone was really cooperative and understanding with our sitting position,” said Robertson. “We weren’t prepared for so many people.

Typically, he said the Othello demo event has around 85-90 drivers, but this year there were over 110 cars. Having an extra year to prepare, Robertson said he believes it will give him more time. But he said it seemed there was still not enough time.

Robertson said he had been to a handful of rodeos and derbies around Washington and Idaho this summer, seeing crowds packed everywhere he went. He said he had an idea that he might also have a sold-out crowd at Othello.

“We tried to put in additional bleachers, plan for additional parking and it still wasn’t enough,” said Robertson. “It was chaos, but the right kind of chaos. It was really refreshing to see a lot of people coming to support this local rodeo association.

Robertson said he believed many local people did not understand how a special event hosted by the Othello Rodeo Association was a PRCA sanctioned event. Much like a Seattle Seahawks game or a Mariners game, he said it’s professional athletes who come to compete in Othello.

Robertson said he really enjoyed participating in this event and supporting the local rodeo association.

“It’s just fun for me,” he said.

Vawn Davis Jr. competed in the demonstration derby for the first time this year, starting and ending her very first qualifying race in first place.

“I know you never want to start first because everyone is going to try to pin you in the first corner, but I just knew if the car held up in the first corner I might pull away because these are fools, ”Davis said.

Davis led every lap of his race and never even touched another car. He said the car he was participating in sat for a while, but with the help of his friend, brother and father, he was able to get the car ready for the start.

“It has always been a dream of mine,” said Davis. “I grew up watching my friend run, watching his dad run, watching my dad run for many years. It’s just the biggest feeling in the world right now.

Miss Rodeo Othello 2020-21 Brianna Kin Kade helped kick off the ceremonies on Wednesday evening. Kin Kade was asked to resume her title of Miss Rodeo Othello for another year after missing her first reign as Queen due to COVID-19.

Finally getting to hit the arena in her hometown was pretty amazing, she said.

“I’ve traveled to so many different rodeos and seen people from our community go to these rodeos and it was great to see them, but this is my rodeo in my hometown,” said Kin Kade. “To be able to see all the familiar faces here, I’m so excited.”

Kin Kade said it was nice to get back to a busy schedule filled with rodeo events this summer.

“I don’t really like sitting at home doing nothing, so being able to do things that are not only fun but also mean a lot to the community means so much more,” she said.

Steve Martinez and Chad Cole won the trophy race. The winners of the qualifying race included: Tyler Marchand, Quirino Gonzales, Evan Cassiano, Owen Olson (twice), Tommy Pruneda, Jay Pierce, Jake Neissl, Max Waters, Kelten Booth, Daniel Guadiana, Steve Martinez, Dewayne Smith, Juan Rocha, David Gonzalez and Rylie Miller.

The Powder Puff Race winners included: Rylie Miller, Misti Lybbert, Amy Clardy, Nathan Garza, Riley Sundberg and Breana Danie. Sid White, Josiah Guerra, Justin Staud, Tommy Pruneda, Anthony Martinez, Jason Anderson, Nate Cole, Quirino Gonzales, Chad Cole and Andy Erickson won the Australian pursuit races. In the winner’s races, Quirino Gonzales and Riley Miller finished first.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.