Racing begins at the 2022 Congress Cup >> Scuttlebutt Sailing News

Long Beach, Calif. (April 19, 2022) – Taylor Canfield began his Congress Cup trophy defense today as he chases an unprecedented sixth victory in the only Grade 1 match racing event in the United States . A ten-team international field competes in the Catalina 37s, beginning with a double round robin series followed by semi-finals, small finals and final matches from April 19-23.

Event Info – Results – Crew Lists

2022 Match Racing World Tour Schedule
April 14-16 – Ficker Cup – Long Beach, CA, USA
April 18-23 – Congress Cup – Long Beach, CA, USA*
April 28-May 1 – Szczecin Match Race – Szczecin, Poland
May 6-8 – Porto Montenegro Match Race – Tivat, Montenegro
May 20-22 – NJK Open Spring Cup – Helsinki, Finland
May 24-29 – Island Match Cup – Puerto Rico (canceled)
June 4-5 – GKSS Spring Cup – Gothenburg, Sweden
June 16-19 – OM International Ledro Match Race – Ledro, Italy
July 4-9 – GKSS Match Cup Marstrand – Marstrand, Sweden* (canceled)
August 12-14 – Chicago Grand Slam – Chicago, Illinois, USA
August 18-21 – International Match Race for the Detroit Cup – Detroit, MI, USA
August 25-29 – Oakcliff International – Oyster Bay, NY, USA
Aug. 30-Sept. 3 – Thompson Cup – Oyster Bay, NY, USA
September 7-11 – Baltic Match Race – Tallin, Estonia
September 29-October 3 – Match Race Germany – Langenargen, Germany
September 30-October 3 – DBS Marina Bay Cup – Marina Bay, Singapore
October 7-9 – Polish Open – Szczecin, Poland
October 17-22 – Bermuda Gold Cup – Hamilton, Bermuda* (canceled)
December 6-11 – Shenzhen Bao’an Match Cup: WMRT Finals – Shenzhen, China*
*World Championship Events (CM)

Founded in 2000, the World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) promotes the sport of match racing worldwide and is the world’s oldest professional series in the sport of sailing. The WMRT is awarded ‘Special Event’ status by the sport’s global governing body – World Sailing – and the winner of the WMRT each year is crowned World Sailing Match Racing World Champion.

Previous champions include Sir Ben Ainslie (GBR), Taylor Canfield (USA), Peter Gilmour (AUS), Magnus Holmberg (SWE), Peter Holmberg (ISV), Adam Minoprio (NZL), Torvar Mirsky (AUS), Bertrand Pace ( FRA ), Jesper Radich (DEN), Phil Robertson (NZL) and Ian Williams (GBR).

Since 2000, the World Match Racing Tour and its events have awarded more than $23 million in prize money to sailors, which has contributed to the careers of many of today’s professional sailors.

Source: Betsy Senescu

Comments are closed.